Sydney Byerly – Franklin College

Cate Charron – Indiana University

Isaac Gleitz – Franklin College

Elissa Maudlin – Ball State University

Mary Claire Molloy – Indiana University

Gabi Morando – Butler University

Augusta Nafziger – Goshen College

Nadia Scharf – Indiana University

Lauren Ulrich – Indiana University

Maya Wilkins – Ball State University


Helen Rummel – Indiana University

Sadie Brenneman – Goshen College

The writing competition petition pays homage to the late Indy Star journalist Tom Keating, a beloved columnist and Lilly Endowment executive who was especially good at telling the stories of everyday people.

A huge thank you to the Lumina Foundation for being a

Gold Sponsor of our 2022 Thomas R. Keating Contest.

Since its inception in 1986, the Keating program has awarded roughly $177,000 to Indiana college and university students.