Keating Competition 2009

2009 Keating Competition Winners And Finalists

Margaret Sutherlin

Margaret Sutherlin

DePauw University Senior

Margaret Sutherlin, a senior at DePauw University, won the 23rd Annual Thomas R. Keating Feature Writing Program in Indianapolis on Nov. 14, 2009.

The annual contest, sponsored by the Indianapolis Press Club Foundation, features 10 finalists representing Indiana’s best college journalism students.

Sutherlin received $2,500 in prize money for her first-place story. Sarah Hutchins of Indiana University placed second and received $1,250. Lana Kunz of the University of Southern Indiana was third and received $750.

The other finalist — chosen from a record 61 entrants and representing more than 10 Indiana colleges — were: Amanda Junk, Ball State University; Travis Braun, Franklin College; and Natalie Avon, Lauren Clason, Stephanie Doctrow, Sean Morrison and John Seasly, all of Indiana University.

New York Times White House Correspondent Jeff Zeleny spoke to the audience, which included the Keating finalists as well as several scholarship winners. He encouraged students that while journalism is changing the essence of it remains the same — talented reporters are still needed to go out to find and write good stories.

For this year’s winners, see the main Keating Competition page.  The annual writing contest pays homage to the late Indianapolis Star journalist Tom Keating, a beloved columnist who told the stories of everyday people.