Keating Competition 2010

2010 Keating Competition Winners And Finalists

The Indianapolis Press Club Foundation awarded $5,500 in prizes the weekend of Nov. 11-12, 2011, to Indiana college students studying journalism. The prizes included cash awards for the top three winners of the 25th Annual Thomas R. Keating Feature Writing Contest, which is sponsored by the press club. The 2011 Keating competition featured 10 finalists, representing Indiana’s best college journalism students.

Rachel Stark

Rachel Stark

Indiana University

Rachel Stark of Indiana University won first place and $2,500 prize money for her winning story in the 24th Annual Thomas R. Keating Feature Writing Contest, which was completed Nov. 13, 2010.

Finishing in second and earning $1,250 was IU’s CJ Lotz and Christine DiGangi of DePauw University earned third place and $750. Winners received their awards on Nov. 13 at the Indianapolis Press Club Foundation’s annual dinner at the Skyline Club in downtown Indianapolis – a fundraiser that supports the Keating competition and other IPCF scholarship programs for Indiana college journalism students.

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Tom French was the guest speaker. Borshoff, Franklin College, Lilly Endowment Inc., Indiana University and IUPUI helped underwrite the weekend’s events and annual dinner.

Other 2010 Keating finalists – chosen from 48 entrants – were: Andrew Maddocks, DePauw University; Brittany Brownrigg, Renee Bruck and Julie Crothers, Franklin College; Elizabeth “Biz” Carson, Caitlin Johnston, Sean Morrison, Charlie Scudder and Avi Zaleon, Indiana University.

For this year’s winners, see the main Keating Competition page.  The annual writing contest pays homage to the late Indianapolis Star journalist Tom Keating, a beloved columnist who told the stories of everyday people.